Exposition Julius Baltazar
Julius Baltazar - Artelibri
Julius Baltazar - Artelibri
Julius Baltazar - Artelibri

Artelibri invites you to discover the works and books of poet and painter Julius Balthazar, through an exhibition.

Julius Baltazar is a painter, engraver and lithographer. His first works on paper date back to childhood. As a teenager, he preferred visiting the galleries of Saint-Germain-des-Prés to studying. It was during this period that he met Cuban painter Jorge Camacho, who gave him his first tin of oil paints. A precocious artist, he began exhibiting at the age of 16.

In 1967, he met Salvador Dali, who christened him "Julius Baltazar". Dali introduced him to Fernando Arrabal, with whom he founded the Intra-Realist Movement. He stayed with both artists in Cadaques, Spain.

The artist's work can be found in major public collections in France and around the world. Julius Baltazar's work is instantly recognizable. His technical mastery of both engraving and sculpture encourages him to use intaglio, watercolor, Indian ink and Harlequin pencil as well as acrylic.

Rates

Free entry.

Informations

  • Opening period

    From 15/06 to 28/07/2024 between 2.30 pm and 5.30 pm.
    Closed Saturday and Sunday.
    Appointments available by telephone.

Exposition Julius Baltazar
Julius Baltazar - Artelibri
Julius Baltazar - Artelibri
Julius Baltazar - Artelibri

Artelibri vous invite à découvrir les oeuvres et les livres du poète et artiste peintre Julius Balthazar, à travers une exposition.

Julius Baltazar est peintre, graveur et lithographe. Ses premières oeuvres sur papier remontent à l’enfance. Adolescent, il préfère visiter les galeries de Saint-Germain-des-Prés qu’étudier. C’est à cette période qu’il rencontre le peintre cubain Jorge Camacho, qui lui offre sa première boîte de peinture à l’huile. Artiste précoce, il expose dès l’âge de 16 ans.

En 1967, il rencontre Salvador Dali qui le baptise « Julius Baltazar ». Ce dernier lui fait connaître Fernando Arrabal avec lequel il fonde le Mouvement intra-réaliste. Il séjourne en compagnie des deux artistes à Cadaquès en Espagne.

Les oeuvres de l’artiste sont présentées dans d’importantes collections publiques en France et sur toute la planète. Julius Baltazar développe un univers reconnaissable au premier coup d’oeil. Sa maîtrise technique, à la fois de la gravure et de la sculpture, l’encourage à utiliser taille-douce, aquarelle, encre de Chine et crayon Arlequin aussi bien que l’acrylique.

Tarifs

Entrée libre.

Infos

  • Période d'ouverture

    Du 15/06 au 28/07/2024 de 14h30 à 17h30.
    Fermé samedi et dimanche.
    Rendez-vous possible par téléphone.